It’s the little things.

Who doesn’t enjoy staying  warm on cold winter days. For me, there is no better way to spend my time then snuggled up with a book, a movie, porridge or soup. Comfort food are the best. They relax me and give me such delight. This is what potato soup feels like to me. So yesterday I was home and decided to make some. I have never made it on my own, I always bought it from a restaurant. So I looked online for the recipe, and after a few ajustments I was triumphant. It was sooo good. I even brought some for lunch today.

 

Set a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add the bacon and cook until crispy, 6 to 8 minutes; remove to a plate. When cool, crumble and set aside for garnish.
Add the onions and garlic to the pot, and cook in the rendered bacon grease until softened, 4 to 5 minutes. Add the flour and some salt and pepper, and stir until combined. Cook for 3 minutes, so the raw flour taste cooks out. Add the chicken broth and heavy cream, whisking to remove any flour lumps. Add the potatoes and cook over medium heat until tender, about 10 minutes.
With a potato masher, break up the cooked potatoesthis will yield a thick and chunky consistency. Whisk in sour cream and then the shredded cheddar; let it melt through.
Serve garnished with crispy crumbled bacon and sliced scallions.

I did not use bacon because I am a vegetarian. Nor did I use sour cream or cheddar. I boiled the potatoes in plain water, along with all the seasons and onion until the water is almost gone. Then I add milk, kale and boil again.

What is/are your comfort food?

7 thoughts on “It’s the little things.

Leave a Reply

